This article is over 5 years old and may contain outdated information.

People & Culture

Nominations open for RCGS Massey Medal

Award recognizes exemplary work in the exploration, development or description of the geography of Canada. Nomination deadline is January 15th, 2017.

  • Dec 02, 2016
  • 265 words
  • 2 minutes
Steve blasco massey medal Expand Image

Nominations are now open for The Royal Canadian Geographical Society’s Massey Medal, which honours outstanding career achievements in the exploration, development or description of the geography of Canada. 

The Massey Medal is one of the Society’s most highly-coveted awards, says RCGS CEO John Geiger.

From the first winner in 1959 (awarded to RCMP officer Henry Asbjorn Larsen for leading the first west to east voyage through the Northwest Passage) to the 2016 medalist (Steven Blasco, who recently retired after four decades of studying Canada’s marine environment with the Bedford Institute of Oceanography), the Massey Medal recognizes exemplary work in the field of geography. Other previous winners include celebrated anthropologist Diamond Jenness and governmental science advisor Fred Roots.

 In a memo to the Society’s fellowship, Geiger writes,

“Our Society was founded in 1929 with the essential mandate of making Canada better known to Canadians and to the world. To that end, we continue to be one of the country’s leading voices in connecting Canadians with their vast and diverse geographical heritage.

One of the ways in which [the] Society helps to promote the importance of geography and geographical learning is through our awards program. Each year, we recognize exceptional individuals for their outstanding contribution to geography, exploration, geographic education, or contributions to the Society.”

Only Canadian citizens are eligible to win the Massey Medal, although it may be awarded to a non-Canadian under special circumstances, as determined by the Massey Foundation. Nominations for the Massey Medal are open to public until the January 15th, 2017 submission deadline

Know a deserving candidate? Visit to submit a nomination. 


Are you passionate about Canadian geography?

You can support Canadian Geographic in 3 ways:

Related Content


Nominations open for Shackleton Medal for the Protection of the Polar Regions

Now in its third year, the prize recognizes individuals who are not only exploring Earth’s polar regions, but striving to protect them 

  • 500 words
  • 2 minutes
Gilles Gagnier, publisher of Canadian Geographic, at the RCGS Fellows Dinner

People & Culture

10 awesome things that happened at the 2016 RCGS Fellows Dinner

Celebrating new partnerships, milestone anniversaries and a bird for Canadians on geography's biggest night

  • 1194 words
  • 5 minutes

People & Culture

Royal Canadian Geographical Society Awards 2020

Award recipients honoured in the first virtual Annual General Meeting and Fellows Show.

  • 2630 words
  • 11 minutes
National Arts Centre setup

People & Culture

Eight awesome things that happened at the 2018 RCGS Fellows Dinner

Remembering Louie Kamookak, a new Explorer-in-Residence and other highlights from the 89th Annual College of Fellows Dinner

  • 1633 words
  • 7 minutes