Explorers and artists were among those recognized for their contributions to geography at The Royal Canadian Geographical Society’s annual College of Fellows Dinner on Nov. 13 at the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, Que. The 2013 award winners are listed below.

Sir Christopher Ondaatje Medal for Exploration
Jill Heinerth, for her 20-year career as an award-winning underwater cave explorer and filmmaker.

Gold Medal (achievements in geography)
Robert Bateman, for helping make The Royal Canadian Geographical Society a leading educational force in Canada.

The Mapping Information Branch of Natural Resources Canada, for recently completing topographic mapping of Canada at 1:50,000 scale.

Michael Palin, the renowned adventurer and comedian, for his contributions to geographical literacy.

Camsell Medal (outstanding volunteer service to the RCGS)
Sir Christopher Ondaatje, the explorer and philanthropist, for unwavering dedication to the Society.

Massey Medal (outstanding career achievement in Canadian geography)
David Ley, of the University of British Columbia’s geography department.

Martin Bergmann Medal (excellence in Arctic leadership and science)
David Hik, former executive director of the Canadian International Polar Year Secretariat.

Geographic Literacy Award
Anne Smith Mansfield, geography instructor in the faculty of education at Queen’s University.

Innovation in Geography Teaching Award
Andrew Young, of G.P. Vanier Secondary School in Courtenay, B.C.

3M Environmental Innovation Award
Jeff Golfman, president of Prairie Pulp & Paper Inc., for innovations in the industry and charitable work with Green Kids Inc.